Department of Mathematics

West Chester University

Mathematics Information
Office: Room 101
25 University Avenue
West Chester, PA 19383
Phone (610) 436-2440
Fax (610) 738-0578
Email: Department Chair


Summer 2011

Graduate Courses Leading to a Master of Arts Degree in

Mathematics

(Mathematics or Mathematics Education Options)

First Summer Session – May 23rd through June 23rd

MAT 503 – History of Mathematics (3 graduate credits)
Monday and Wednesday – 6 to 10 p.m.
Instructor: Dr. Marano: lmarano@wcupa.edu

Second Summer Session – June 27th through July 28th

MTE 507 – Foundations of Secondary School Mathematics
(3 graduate credits)
Monday through Thursday - 1 to 3:15 p.m.
Instructor: Dr. Glidden: pglidden@wcupa.edu

MAT 535 – Topology (3 graduate credits)
Monday through Thursday – 10:30 a.m. to 12:45 p.m.
Instructor: Dr. Moser: jmoser@wcupa.edu

MTE 553 – Teaching Elementary School Mathematics
(3 graduate credits)
Monday through Thursday – 10:30 a.m. to 12:45 p.m.
Instructor: Dr. Jackson: kjackson@wcupa.edu

MAT 575 – Complex Analysis I (3 graduate credits
Monday through Thursday – 8 to 10:15 a.m.
Instructor: Dr. Nitica: vnitica@wcupa.edu

MAT 595 - Special Topics in Mathematics (Unique and Non-unique Factorization Domains)
(3 graduate credits)
Monday through Thursday – 1 to 3:15 p.m.
Instructor: Dr. Gupta: sgupta@wcupa.edu

Also offered will be seven one week graphing calculator workshops all available for 3 graduate credits. The graphing calculator workshop credits may not be used toward the MA in Mathematics. The workshops will be offered the weeks of June 27th and July 11th.

For more information, or to enroll in a summer 5 week class or a one week graphing calculator workshop, contact Dr. Gallitano at ggallitano@wcupa.edu or call 610-436-2452.