Latin American and Latino/a Studies Minor

West Chester University


Faculty

PROGRAM COORDINATOR

Linda Stevenson

Political Science

Dr. Linda Stevenson joined the International Relations team of the Political Science department West Chester University in 2002. Her primary areas of teaching and research specialization are in comparative politics and international relations, with a focus in the region of Latin America, on topics related to democracy, equality, development and gender politics. Much of her work has focused on Mexican politics, and more recently in gender equity policies in Chile. In light of the growing Latino and immigrant population in the U.S., her work
has shifted to teaching, research, and service about and with Latinos and immigrants in Pennsylvania, and the United States in general. Her Latino Politics course and the related conferences she has organized at WCU focus social and policy issues of the Mexican migrant population in southern Chester County and Puerto Ricans in Philadelphia.


lstevenson@wcupa.edu
(610) 436-3162

Ruby Jones Hall 106

CONTRIBUTING FACULTY

(in alphabetical order)

Leon Arredondo

Anthropology

Old Library, Room 206

(610) 436-2523

larredondo@wcupa.edu

[Picture coming soon]

Michele Belliveau

Social Work

Professor Belliveau’s background is in social work with individuals, families, and groups in diverse, community-based mental health settings. Her interests include the experiences of Latino immigrant families with the U.S. social welfare system, policy practice, and the development of students’ bilingual and bicultural social work competence.

mbelliveau@wcupa.edu
Phone: (610) 436-3469

http://www.wcupa.edu/_academics/sch_sba.geo/images/people/CBPAfaculty/Belliveau.jpg

Marcos Campillo-Fenoll

Languages and Cultures

mcampillo@wcupa.edu

Main Hall 112
(610) 436 - 2466

Marcos Campillo-Fenoll

Cristóbal Cardemil-Krause

Languages and Cultures

Office Location: 111 Main Hall
Phone: 610-436-2372
Email: CCardemil-Krause@wcupa.edu

Cristóbal Cardemil-Krause

Miguel Ceballos

Sociology

Old Library, Room 04

(610) 436-2308

mceballos@wcupa.edu

Dr. Miguel Ceballos

William Keith Corbitt

Languages and Cultures

Office Location: 113 Main Hall
Phone: 610-436-2169
Email: wcorbitt@wcupa.edu

William Keith Corbitt

Valerian Desousa

Sociology

Old Library, Room 03B

(610) 436-2989

vdesousa@wcupa.edu

Website

Dr. Miguel Ceballos

Marc Jacoby

Applied Music

Dr. Marc Jacoby is an Associate Professor of Music at West Chester University of Pennsylvania where he serves as Jazz Studies Coordinator and teaches in the Applied Music and Music Education programs. He currently directs the Criterions Big Band and Latin Jazz Ensemble. Before joining the faculty at WCU, Dr. Jacoby was on the faculty of the VanderCook College of Music in Chicago, IL. While in Chicago, he played with many of the regions salsa and latin-jazz groups including the Grammy nominated Orquesta 911 mambo big band. He also co-founded the Orquesta Dos Claves, a latin-jazz big band and workshop for Chicago area youth. The ensemble performed at the Chicago Jazz Festival, Illinois Music Educator’s Association Conference, Hot House’s Jazz en Clave Festival, Chicago Historical Society, Harold Washington Cultural Center, and school jazz festivals around the region.

Room 224, Swope Music Building
Phone: 610-738-0539
mjacoby@wcupa.edu

http://www.wcupa.edu/cvpa/music/am/mJacoby.asp

Marc M. Jacoby

Tia Malkin-Fonteccio

History

Office Location: 519 Main Hall
Phone: 610-436-2168
Email: tmalkin-fontecchio@wcupa.edu

[Picture coming soon]

Yury Polsky

Political Science

Email: YPolsky@wcupa.edu
Phone: (610) 436-3300

Polsky

Megan Saltzman

Languages and Cultures

msaltzman@wcupa.edu

Main Hall 111

(610) 436 - 2372

Megan Saltzman

Ana Sánchez

Languages and Cultures

asanchez@wcupa.edu

Main Hall 102
(610) 436 - 2337

Ana C. Sánchez

Israel Sanz-Sánchez

Languages and Cultures

Professor Sanz-Sánchez joined WCU in 2009. His area of concentration is the history of Spanish in the United States, the development of dialectal diversity in Latin America, and historical sociolinguistics. His current research focuses on the Spanish of New Mexico and northern Mexico, phonological and morphological change in Latin American Spanish during the colonial period, and the linguistic and historical approaches to the Hispanic archival heritage of the US Southwest. At West Chester, Professor Sanz-Sánchez has taught and developed courses in Spanish as a second language, Spanish phonetics, the history of the Spanish language, Spanish in the United States, and linguistic discrimination.

isanzsanch@wcupa.edu
Main Hall 107
(610) 436 - 3584

Sanz-Sanchez

Stacey Schlau

Languages and Cultures

sschlau@wcupa.edu
Main Hall 112
(610) 436 - 2466

Stacey Schlau

Ron Smith

Geography

[Picture coming soon]

Maria Van Liew

Languages and Cultures

mvanliew@wcupa.edu

Main Hall 101
(610) 430 - 4746

Maria Van Liew

Andrea Varricchio

Languages and Cultures

avarricchio@wcupa.edu

Main Hall 113
(610) 436 - 2169

Andrea Varricchio

Heather Wholey

Anthropology

hwholey@wcupa.edu

Website

Main Hall 113
(610) 436 - 2169

Andrea Varricchio