LGBTQA Services

West Chester University

Aneesah Smith
Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs
for LGBTQA Services and Special Projects
233 Sykes Student Union
610-436-3147
Fax 610-436-2480
asmith4@wcupa.edu


LGBTQA Ally Program

LGBTQA Services trains faculty, staff, and students to be allies to the LGBTQA campus community. This training includes two parts:

Part 1: LGBTQ 101--a one hour training session that provides participants with an overview of LGBTQA history, terms, and current issues. Participants will receive a certificate of completion.

 

LGBTQA 101

Time

Location

Wednesday September 7, 2016

1-2pm

Sykes Union Room 255

Tuesday September 20, 2016

11:30am-12:30pm

Sykes Union Room 255

Thursday October 20, 2016

4:30-5:30pm

Sykes Union Room 255

Friday November 4, 2016

3-4pm

Sykes Union Room 255

Monday November 14, 2016

2:30-3:30pm

Sykes Union Room 255

 

Click here to register for LGBTQ 101

Part 2: LGBTQA Ally Training--a one hour training session that provides LGBTQ 101 "graduates" with the understanding and resources to be an advocate and ally to LGBTQA students, faculty, and staff. Allies are provided with an on-line manual and a door sticker identifying them as an LGBTQA Ally. This program is underwritten by Ms. Starla Gable, '73 and the Gable family.

 

Ally Training

Time

Location

Wednesday September 14, 2016

1-2pm

Sykes Union Room 255

Tuesday September 27, 2016

11:30am-12:30pm

Sykes Union Room 255

Thursday October 27, 2016

4:30-5:30pm

Sykes Union Room 255

Friday November 11, 2016

3-4pm

Sykes Union Room 255

Monday November 21, 2016

2:30-3:30pm

Sykes Union Room 255

 

Click here to register for Ally Training

Trans 101--a one hour presentation facilitated by peer educators who identify within the Trans community. It will briefly review gender, sex and sexuality but focus on what it means to be transgender and how to support Trans students on campus. The sessions are open to students, staff and faculty.

TRANS 101

Time

Location

Monday September 12, 2016

3pm-4pm

Sykes Union Room 255

Wednesday September 28, 2016

11am-12pm

Sykes Union Room 210

Tuesday October 18, 2016

6pm-7pm

Sykes Union Room 255

Thursday November 3, 2016

2pm-3pm

Sykes Union Room 255

Friday November 18, 2016

4pm-5pm

Sykes Union Room 255

 

Click here to register for Trans 101

RESOURCES

LGBTQA Ally Manual

Syllabus Statement

Faculty and Staff LGBTQA Allies

Student LGBTQA Allies