Graduate Student Activities
 

Languages and Cultures

West Chester University

Dr. Jerome Williams
109 Main Hall
West Chester, PA 19383
Phone: 610-436-2700
Fax: 610-436-3048
JWilliams2@wcupa.edu


 

Second Language Pedagogy and Research (L2P&R) Discussion Group

 

Second Language Pedagogy and Research (L2P&R) Discussion Group is one of the many student support programs offered by the Department of Languages and Cultures. It provides a forum to graduate students to discuss topics related to second-language pedagogy and research, exchange ideas, share best practices in second-language teaching, discuss their research ideas, and give and receive feedback on their scholarly work.

Specifically, the graduate students are provided with opportunities to . . .
  • discuss academic articles on second-language learning and teaching;
  • improve their abilities to write abstracts for presentations at conferences;  
  • rehearse for conference presentations (e.g., East-TESOL, TALFL, TESOL, LASSO. . .);
  • obtain feedback on their current research projects and manuscripts;
  • explore various second-language teaching techniques; and
  • pilot and refine tools they develop for second language assessment.  
 

The L2P&R Discussion Group meets once a month during the academic year. The meetings are 50 minutes in length to allow adequate time for discussion, feedback, and questions.

For questions about the L2 P&R Discussion Group,

please contact Dr. Jelena Colovic-Markovic

jmarkovic@wcupa.edu.

l2pnov19

 

Program Faculty

Mahmoud Amer, Assistant Professor of Languages 
Dept. of Languages and Cultures
mamer@wcupa.edu / Main Hall 114
(610) 436 – 2585

Heather Bickley, Instructor
Dept. of Languages and Cultures
hbickeley@wcupa.edu / Main Hall 136
(610) 436-5077

María José Cabrera, Associate Professor of Languages
Dept. of Languages and Cultures
mcabrera@wcupa.edu / Main Hall 103
(610) 436 - 2752

Jelena Colovic-Markovic, Assistant Professor of TESOL
Dept. of Languages and Cultures
jmarkovic@wcupa.edu / Main Hall 107
(610) 436 - 3371

William Keith Corbitt, Assistant Professor of Languages
Dept. of Languages and Cultures
wcorbitt@wcupa.edu  / Main Hall 113
(610) 436- 2169

Angela Della Valle, Instructor
Dept. of Languages and Cultures
adellavall@wcupa.edu / Main Hall 155
(610)436- 3433

Anjali DelPrato, Instructor
Dept. of English
adelprato@wcupa.edu /Main Hall 210
(610)436-0185

Darrell Larsen, Instructor
Dept. of English
dlaresen@wcupa.edu/ Main Hall 210
(610) 436- 2337


Garret G. Molholt, Professor of English
Dept. of English
gmolholt@wcupa.edu/ Main Hall 517
(610) 436-2425

Innhwa Park, Assistant Professor of TESOL
Dept. of Languages and Cultures
ipark@wcupa.edu / Main Hall 100
(610) 436-2640

Frederick Patton, Professor of Languages
Dept. of Languages and Cultures
fpatton@wcupa.edu / Main Hall 114
(610) 436 - 2585

Megan Saltzman, Assistant Professor of Languages
Dept. of Languages and Cultures
msaltzman@wcupa.edu / Main Hall 111
(610) 436 - 2372

Esther [Chui Kian] Smidt, Assistant Professor of TESOL
Dept. of Languages and Cultures
csmidt@wcupa.edu / Main Hall 100
(610) 738 - 0410

Andrea Varricchio, Professor of Languages 
Dept. of Languages and Cultures
avarricchio@wcupa.edu / Main Hall 113
(610) 436 – 2169

Patricia Verbovszky, Instructor
Dept. of Languages and Cultures
pverbovsszk@wcupa.edu /Main Hall 155
(610) 436- 3433