View Text Only Version

College of Business & Public Affairs

School of Business - Mission and Goals

Contact Us  

College of Business & Public Affairs

Dean's Office

Address:
College of Business and Public Affairs
624 South High Street
West Chester, PA 19383

Phone:
610-436-2930


Name: Michelle L. Patrick, Ph.D.
Position: Dean
Email: MPatrick@wcupa.edu


Name: Paige Carey
Position: Dean's Office Secretary
Email: PCarey@wcupa.edu


Name: Cindy Cheyney
Position: Assistant Dean
Email: CCheyney@wcupa.edu


Name: Laurie Christie
Position: Administrative Assistant
Email: LChristie@wcupa.edu


Name: Ruth Flanagan
Position: Administrative Assistant
Email: RFlanagan@wcupa.edu


Name: Lori Fuller
Position: Associate Dean
Email: LFuller@wcupa.edu


Name: Erika Hineman
Position: Director of Communications
Email: EHineman@wcupa.edu


Name: Kathy Koval
Position: Assistant Dean
Email: KKoval@wcupa.edu

School of Business - Mission and Goals

In support of the University Mission, the School of Business provides high-quality undergraduate and graduate business education to students from Pennsylvania and the broader region. The school focuses on student learning and the development of skills that prepare them for the demands of the global business environment. The School strives to be a critical component of the economic fabric of the region through efforts that connect the School with the local and regional community. Given its emphasis on quality teaching, the School encourages faculty to engage in scholarly activities related to their field of expertise, teaching and community issues.

Students who graduate with a B.S. degree in Accounting, Economics, Finance, Management, and/or Marketing should be able to:

  • Understand basic business concepts and theories;
  • Understand how globalization influences an organization and its stakeholders;
  • Understand how diversity influences an organization and its stakeholders;
  • Understand the importance and consequences related to ethical decision-making;
  • Critically analyze and solve a business problem through the appropriate acquisition and evaluation of information;
  • Use quantitative methods and business tools and processes to analyze business problems;
  • Effectively interact with others as part of a team; and
  • Make effective oral and written presentations.

The graduate program provides businesses and non-profits with managers who are able to:

  • Understand business terminology;
  • Critically analyze and identify business problems and opportunities;
  • Integrate decision-making across all business functions to develop effective strategies;
  • Build teams, empower colleagues, and motivate subordinates within an organization;
  • Understand the importance of ethical decision-making;
  • Use quantitative methods and business tools and processes to support problem analysis and decision-making; and
  • Use and communicate information to influence an organization.