The Department of Geology & Astronomy offers a wide variety of courses in geology ranging from general education classes to more advanced classes for the geology major. The program is designed to give students a solid background in geology, including field work and the use of the latest technology. Upper level courses focus on different aspects of geology such as environomental geology, hydrology, and geophysics. Courses designed for earth science teachers are also offered. The suite of geology courses includes:

ESS 101 Introduction to Geology: ESS 101

ESS 102 Humans and the Environment: ESS 102

ESS 125 Volcanoes: ESS 125

ESS 130 Our Coastal Oceans: ESS 130

ESS 201 Field Geology: ESS 201

ESS 204 Historical Geology: ESS 204

ESS 301 Environmental Geochemistry: ESS 301

ESS 302 Mineralogy: ESS 302

ESS 321 Geometrics: ESS 321

ESS 323 General Geologic Field Studies of Southeastern Pennsylvania: ESS 323

ESS 327 Electron Microscopy I: ESS 327

ESS 330 Introduction to Oceanography: ESS 330

ES 331 Introduction to Paleontology: ESS 331

ESS 332 Advanced Oceanography: ESS 332

ESS 336 Environmental Geology: ESS 336

ESS 343 Geomorphology: ESS 343

ESS 347/447 Earth and Space Science Seminar: ESS 347

ESS 405 Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology: ESS 405

ESS 420 Structural Geology: ESS 420

ESS 435 Remote Sensing: ESS 435

ESS 439 Hydrogeology: ESS 439

ESS 442 Geophysics: ESS 442

ESS 450 Sedimentation and Stratigraphy: ESS 450

ESS 490 Fundamentals of Soil: ESS 490

SCE 310 Science for the Elementary Grades: SCE 310

SCE 350 Science Education in the Secondary School: SCE 350

SCI 101 The Carbon Cycle: SCI 101

A more detailed description of all of our courses can be found in the undergraduate catalogue. While there is no major in astronomy, the department offers a minor in the subject. A list of the requirements to complete a minor in astronomy can be found here

WCU Geology Museum

The West Chester University Geology Museum in Schmucker Science Center houses several collections of historic and scientific importance. Minerals from around the world, drawn from the collections of William Yocom and Ruth Bass, are on display. The collection of the late, well-known West Chester geologist Hugh McKinstry contains fine specimens found in Chester County, as well as specimens from notable localities world-wide and collections of other significant 19th century amateurs. A special cabinet with ultraviolet light houses selected specimens from the extensive collection of fluorescent minerals of John Stolar, Sr. Other exhibits include fossils, the geology of Chester County, and labels written by famous collectors and mineralogists. The museum, located in the Schmucker Science Center Link, is free and open to the public.

WCU Center for Microanalysis and Imaging Research and Training

The Center for Microanalysis and Imaging Research and Training (CMIRT) is a facility utilitzed by West Chester University of Pensylvania to house rather large scientific intruments that are shared amongst the WCUPA faculty and is located in the Schumucker Science Center South. It currently houses the FET Tecnai Transmission Electron Microsope (TEM), the FET Quanta Environmental Scanning Electron Microscope (ESEM) with Oxford Inca EDX, and the Olympus FV-300 Confocal Laser Scanning Microscope (CLSM), along with other scientific equippment. Currently the utilization of CMIRT is taken up in twelve differenet courses, from five different departments, (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Geology & Astronomy, Anthropology and Sociology ). Since 2006, hundreds students have used CMIRT in order to complete various research projects, resulting in dozens of new and original projects presentations and publications executed and authored by university students. In addition to this, CMIRT is used for department community outreach to Coatesville and West Chester area school districts, East Bradford Elementary school, and the Philadelphia School for the Deaf. CMIRT is currently being adminsitrated by Dean Lori Vermeulen. Dr. Fred Monson of the Geology & Astronomy department is the Technical Director, and its activities are overseen by the User Group, a committee of fourteen faculty members, of which the executive committee is Dr. Kurt Kolasinski of the Chemistry department, Dr. LeeAnn Srogi (chairwoman) of the Geology & Astronomy department, Dr. Russell Vreeland fo the Biology department, Dr. Matthew Waite of the Physics department, and Dr. Heather Wholey of the Anthropology and Sociology department.